Monthly Roundup: April

What I’ve Been Up To:

Had a great time in Denver for a few of days the end of March into April. We missed the Monday snowstorm and got there on Wednesday where the rest of the week was 58-65 degrees. It felt so amazing to be outside and moving every day. Then we came back to NYC to rain for a week. Both United flights were not Boeing’s thankfully and all parts stayed on the plane. I’m now doing the final touches on my Orlando and Jamaica trips. This month had a few days off from work which was nice to relax. And I had my very own totally alone wellness day which was very nice.

What I Ate:

Kyuramen (Bayside, Queens)- I wasn’t impressed. Had tables in a honeycomb shape which was cool so you had to climb up to your table. Got a crispy chicken sandwich that had rice as the bun. Chicken wasn’t white meat, it looked a bit undercooked but I was also wondering if it might have been pork instead and they mixed up the order. I didn’t say anything because I know I’m picky with meat so it might have been a Me thing. They had good purple sweet potato fries though. 

The French Workshop (Bayside Queens)– this dessert made up for the lackluster dinner. I got a piece of dessert that tasted like a giant Ferrero Rocher hazelnut ball. SO GOOD.

I don’t even wanna know how many calories. My favorite part is this beautiful dessert on a nice silver platter on a paper plate with a plastic fork. This establishment said “Hard pass to washing dishes”

Wellness retreat Yo1: Breakfast lunch and Dinner. I didn’t have to make myself any of those meals; it was glorious. Vegan based. I had a chicken cutlet made of tofu. It was amazing. And I had just talked about how I can’t get behind tofu. This changed my mind. Soups, salad, juices and a chocolate mousse for dessert. I wish I could eat like that all the time. And have someone else make it.

What I Read:

The Son and Heir: A Memoir by Alexander Munninghoff

Miss Independent by Nicole Lapin

What I Watched:

Chicken Nugget (Netflix)

Oppenheimer

Aquaman and The Lost Kingdom

Baby Reindeer (Netflix)

Griselda (Netflix)

Tracker (on CBS)

Toddler Corner:

Started soccer again and he picked out new soccer shoes. Bright orange. We’re making progress in wanting to wear sports gear.

Got a helmet and scooter so we’re scooting a lot outside when it’s nice. He’s in that phase of existential crisis of wanting to be a big independent boy but also not completely being ok with not being a baby anymore. It’s emotionally exhausting but we’re working through our feelings. All of us.

Picked him up early one day that I had off to take him to the Long Island Children’s Museum to see an Eric Carle exhibit and they were also showing Don’t Let The Pigeon Drive The Bus the Musical that day…two of his favorite authors so he was very excited and overwhelmed. It was a nice family outing. I will always take him out of school for experiences.

Favorite Pic Of The Month:

I found this just laying outside the parking lot of work one morning. Warning? A sign of a fun night? The mystery is still not solved.

What I’m Looking Forward To Next Month:

More sun and being outdoors. May is going to be a relatively calm month so I have no plans, just taking it one week at a time. Unlike the always busy June.

** Thanks for listening! Don’t forget to like, subscribe, comment and share. It helps me know I’m not just talking to myself **

Leave a comment